Home Sweet Home (for August)

Our housing in Barcelona couldn’t be more different than Torino. In Italy, our apartment was very quaint and it felt like I was waking up in a European town every morning. Although, my bedroom overlooked a courtyard where a very loud, often unhappy toddler lived. I could bank on countless meltdowns and endless running across the balcony on a daily basis.

In Spain, I feel like I’m waking up in an Ikea store every morning. Which to be fair, is still very European, just a different Euro style. It’s very clean as everything is brand new and absolutely everything is white or neutral color. From that aspect, I actually quite like it. It just doesn’t have as much character, which is what I liked about my Split and Torino apartments.

However, WE HAVE AC!!! After a month of no air conditioning and 90+ degree days, I can’t even begin to tell you what a relief it is.

This month I’m living with Jillian and Ciara with Sarah, Michelle and Rachel right downstairs. We’re in the El Born neighborhood which is very centrally located. We’re across the street from the Mercat de Santa Caterina, a wonderful fresh market selling fruits, vegetables, meats, fish, cheeses, olives, eggs, dried fruits, nuts, etc. We’re also really close to Catedral de Barcelona and the Picasso Museum and a 25-minute walk to the beach, which I have taken almost daily.

Here’s a quick look at my Spanish abode:

Spain Apartment 3Spain Apartment 4Spain Apartment 5Spain Apartment 2Spain Apartment 1

The apartment layout is kind of weird. One long hallway with every room jutting off it. I accidentally walked into Ciara’s room several times the first week meaning to go into the kitchen.

Spain Apartment 7

I’m a frequent visitor to the market. When you have this right outside your door, how can you not!?

Spain Apartment 9

Most of the stalls have been owned and run by the same family for several generations.

Spain Apartment 6Spain Apartment 8

One thought on “Home Sweet Home (for August)

  1. Your apartment looks really nice and the market looks amazing!! How nice to have that right across the street! I can’t believe you didn’t have AC in Split or Turin…….

    Like

Leave a Reply

